Two useful new Finder Preferences in macOS Sierra

In the macOS Sierra Finder, “there are two new preferences, that will be useful for some people,” Kirk McElhearn writes for Kirkville.

“The first lets you tell the Finder to automatically delete item from the Trash after 30 days. I know a lot of people who never empty the Trash, until they eventually run out of space on their Macs. This will help them, since items in the Trash will be deleted automatically,” McElhearn writes. “Unfortunately, this setting of 30 days is a long time; I think a week would be better, or perhaps a menu with several choices, such as On Shutdown, One Day, One Week, One Month.”

“The second setting makes for better file viewing when you view files in the Finder in list mode, and sort by name,” McElhearn writes. “Folders will display at the top of the list, instead of mixed into the list in alphabetical order.”

Read more and see the screenshots in the full article here.

MacDailyNews Take: If we only had a nickel for every time we’ve emptied the Trash on our moms’ Macs.

12 Comments

  1. >Folders will display at the top of the list, instead of mixed into the list in alphabetical order.

    Just like Windows has always done. It’s about f’ing time.

    1. I have to agree on this one. It’s always bothered me how macOS handles this. I also wish you could turn off the “feature” that automatically opens a folder if you click & drag an item over it.

  2. Or how about letting us delete select files in the Trash, instead of all at once?

    Seems the ability will already be there, if they can selectively delete just those that have been in the Trash for 30 days.

      1. Problem with this workaround is: unlike the actual Trash, your workaround doesn’t have a “Put back” menu option, since the Trash remembers where a file came from.

    1. With a Time Machine disk always connected (not my only backup), I can easily get something back that was trashed. No need for an extra folder.

    2. You mean like this: Open Trash. Select items you want to delete immediately. Right-click, select “Delete immediately.” ‘Cause that’s been there for ages.

      1. And by ages, you mean less than a year, since that only got introduced in El Capitan. It’s not there in Yosemite.

        I stand corrected though, Apple did put it in.

Reader Feedback

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.