“Apple’s new ‘Hey Siri’ feature “now no longer requires that your phone be plugged in to power to be active,” Matthew Panzarino reports for TechCrunch. “An ‘always listening’ phone logically raises some questions about how that data will be handled, transmitted and sent. Live Photos, as well, are a new wrinkle — photographs with audio and motion attached.”

“Because Live Photos record motion before your still image, they are continuously buffered beginning the moment you open your camera app and see the Live icon (orange circle) at the top of your screen. Apple says that this 1.5 second recording only happens when the camera is on, and this information is not permanently saved until you take a picture, period,” Panzarino reports. “‘Although the camera is ‘recording’ while you’re in Live Photo mode, the device will not save the 1.5 seconds before until you press the camera button,’ says Apple. ‘The pre-captured images are not saved to the user’s device nor are they sent off the device… We treat privacy and security of Live Photos the same that we do for existing Photos and Videos. They don’t leave the device for any reason unless you purposely share it or elect to use iCloud.'”

“Hey Siri is an optional feature that is enabled by an opt-in step in iOS 9’s setup. You can choose never to enable it. If you do enable it, nothing is ever recorded in any way before the feature is triggered,” Panzarino reports. “‘In no case is the device recording what the user says or sending that information to Apple before the feature is triggered,’ says Apple.”

Much more in the full article here.

MacDailyNews Take: People who value privacy and security use Apple products.