Apple iPhone 5s pre-orders at China Mobile Beijing: One every 2 seconds

“Some time before midnight in New York (1 p.m. Beijing), China Mobile’s (CHL) Beijing reservation website switched to attached image, strongly suggesting that the world’s largest mobile carrier — with more than 750 million subscribers — was getting ready to offer Apple’s (AAPL) iPhone 5S for sale,” Philip Elmer-DeWitt reports for Fortune.

“When an AppleInsider reader named Jeffery snapped the first screenshot, the visitor counter displayed the number 3,004. By 6 a.m. Eastern (7 p.m. in Beijing) — six hours later — the counter hit 17,525 and was increasing at the rate of one every two seconds,” P.E.D. reports. “Whether those numbers represent reservations or just page views is not clear. ”

Read more in the full article here.

[Thanks to MacDailyNews Reader “Jersey_Trader” for the heads up.]

10 Comments

  1. When will people wake up to know this is not deal inked preorder? This is only a china mobile UNOFFICIAL online store doing promotion .

    WAKE UP DUDE !!! AAPL is facing a big dive !!

  2. Looks like China Mobile is pre selling ahead of an official announcement, to test the online process and ease an expected avalanche of first day orders (ie: avoid a real time overload of their servers which would be embarrasing.

    Bring it on. Hohoho

  3. Shame on CNN for this hit-whore headline, for DeWitt writes:

    “Whether those numbers represent reservations or just page views is not clear.”

    Any claim that these are actual pre-orders is either premature or sheer sensationalism.

    1. Exactly. The AppleInsider article CLEARLY states that this was just a web page visitor counter. It has nothing to do with any pre-order measurement. MDN should have corrected the headline to be accurate. But I guess it’s not much of a story that a bunch of people visited a China Mobile website.

Reader Feedback

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.