Apple today began taking pre-orders for iPhones 7 and iPhone 7 Plus. Apple online ordering was sluggish to unresponsive at times as pre-orders began at 12am PDT/3am EDT today and, nearly immediately, shipping dates began slipping.

For all four U.S. carriers, Apple’s flagship iPhone 7 Plus in Jet Black in both 128GB and 256GB capacities (the latter, the very models we successfully ordered; no, we didn’t buy them all, we don’t think) quickly began showing slipping shipping dates. At 6:15am PDT/9:15am EDT, if you want a Jet Black iPhone 7 Plus, your shipping date is listed as “November.”

The smaller iPhone 7 in Jet Black has also slipped, but the wait is shorter: 3-4 weeks, if you pre-order now. Jet Black is either extremely popular, or Apple had fewer of those to go around at launch. If you got an iPhone 7 or iPhone 7 Plus in Jet Black, you’re likely going to have a rather unique-looking iPhone for a few months at least!

iPhone 7 Plus

iPhone 7 Plus in Jet Black

 
Those who got their orders in earliest are slated to receive their iPhones on the official day of availability: Friday, September 16th.

The link for Apple’s iPhone pre-order site is here.

MacDailyNews Take: As usual, Apple.com was inaccessible by the time we’d placed our orders for 256GB iPhone 7 Plus in Jet Black (and our Apple Watch Nike+ units) via the Apple Store app on our iPad Pro units.

Apple’s app began working, although sluggishly, shortly after 12am PDT/3am EDT today and, with our pre-orders already favorited, the process was relatively quick! By the time Apple.com became accessible online, some 15 minutes later, iPhone pre-order shipping times had already slipped.

SEE ALSO:
Order your iPhone 7/Plus early or be prepared to wait as Apple expects tight supply – September 8, 2016