“Earlier this month Microsoft finally went on record admitting that automatic spying within Windows 10 cannot be stopped,” Gordon Kelly reports for Forbes. “This sparked a lot of outrage and with ‘Threshold 2’ it appeared Microsoft had done a sharp U-turn because the background service at the heart tracking (the ‘Diagnostics Tracking Service’ aka ‘DiagTrack’) appeared to have been removed. Critics celebrated and it was another well deserved pat on the back for Microsoft.”

“Except it turns out Microsoft had just been very sneaky,” Kelly reports. “What Tweakhound discovered and was subsequently confirmed by BetaNews, is Microsoft simply renamed DiagTrack. It is now called the ‘Connected User Experiences and Telemetry Service’ – which is both a) deliberately vague, and b) misleading (don’t ‘Connected User Experiences’ sound great).”

“Even sneakier is, in being renamed, Microsoft also reset users preferences,” Kelly reports. “Those who dug deep into the Windows 10 registry to disable DiagTrack will find it has been re-enabled now it is called the Connected User Experiences and Telemetry Service. Yes, tracking is back and without any warning and your preferences were irrelevant.”

More info in the full article here.

MacDailyNews Take: Those who use inferior wares deserve their fate.

[Thanks to MacDailyNews Reader “Dan K.” for the heads up.]