Apple’s iOS 8.1: Today’s release times

“iOS 8.1, which Apple unveiled at its iPad and Mac event on Thursday, brings ‘back the beloved camera roll’ and marks the debut of the iCloud photo library,” Shara Tibken reports for CNET. “It also adds support for Apple Pay, a new service that allows owners of Apple’s latest devices to purchase items in stores and online using the touch of a finger on the gadget’s TouchID [sic].”

“Along with the launch of the iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus smartphones last month, Apple also unveiled its new mobile payments system, called Apple Pay. The service, which launched Monday with iOS 8.1, works by allowing users to simply tap their iPhone devices to payment terminals and then touch their devices’ fingerprint sensors to purchase items,” Tibken reports. “People now can pay for items in apps using a single touch on their device’s fingerprint sensor, something that removes time and the hassle of entering credit card and address information over and over. Previously, Apple allowed consumers to use the fingerprint sensor to quickly buy content just from its iTunes, App and iBooks stores. Online shopping within apps works with Apple’s new iPhones and watch, as well as the new iPad Air 2 and iPad Mini 3.”

Read more in the full article here.

“We expect an iOS 8.1 release time and date at 1 PM Eastern on October 20th,” Josh Smith reports for Gotta Be Mobile. “This is the same time Apple uses for all planned major iOS releases. Apple already confirmed the iOS 8.1 release date, and although they did not specifically mention the iOS 8.1 release time you can plan on downloads starting at this time.”

“By placing the iOS 8.1 release in the middle of the day Apple is able to better respond to any potential issues with the update. You should not expect an iOS 8.1 release at 12:01 AM on October 20th,” Smith reports. “There are always some users who wait up late for an iOS release, but Apple never starts downloads like this in the middle of the night U.S. time.”

Here is when you can expect the iOS 8.1 release time in your time zone:

Eastern – 1 PM
Central – 12 PM
Mountain – 11 AM
London – 6 PM
Moscow – 9 PM
New Dehli – 10:30 PM
Shanghai – 1 AM Tuesday
Tokyo – 2 AM Tuesday
Melbourne – 3 AM Tuesday
Auckland – 5 AM Tuesday

Smith reports. “One reason Apple avoids confirming the iOS 8.1 release time is to prevent a huge number of users from rushing to download the file. This can slow download times dramatically, but it should not be as much of an issue as with iOS 8. The iOS 8.1 update should be a smaller download.”

Read more in the full article here.

27 Comments

  1. If anyone is hoping 8.1 will get rid of the never clearing available updates badge on the App Store icon… it doesn’t. Quite an annoying bug that Apple have been notified of, but have ignored.

  2. Very good article. I am having serious wifi issues with the iPhone 6 and iPad mini retina where I have done a new phone restore, also changed network settings etc. Hopefully this issues will be sorted out with today’s update.

  3. I meant these issues and there seems to be a keyboard problem at times as well as Touch ID response.
    My husbands iPad runs much slower and he has the same connectivity problems as I do. Otherwise I love this iPhone 6 and can’t wait to use Apple Pay.

    1. My iPad 3 was running slower and even appear to crash when I was typing something. Solution: Disable the predictive keyboard, and other appearance related capabilities. My iPad is running great now; no issues. My girlfriends iPad 2 is working fine once we made the same changes to it.

  4. I hope 8.1 not only fixes the bluetooth issue, but also the issue of wrong contacts when using continuity when receiving phone calls on my iPad mini, it always shows the previous contact, although the call is correct. Also, when somebody calls my phone, it also rings my wife’s phone, and vice versa. So that is maddening. Guess we will see in a few hours.

  5. There are certainly a few bugs in iOS8 as there are in Yosemite. Overall both are good upgrades. Looking forward to using 8.1 and seeing how the iCloud file sharing works out.
    Not sure how much of ApplePay anyone can use if they don’t have a new iPhone.

Reader Feedback

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.