Apple’s online store is currently offline, displaying the familiar message that often, but not always, precedes new product additions:

We’ll be back.

We’re busy updating the store for you. Check back soon.

Apple is scheduled to hold a special media event today at Lane Tech College Prep High School in Chicago at which a new iPad, among other possibilities, is expected.

MacDailyNews will present live coverage of Apple’s special media event event today at 8am PDT / 10am CDT / 11am EDT. Look for the link on our home page about an hour before the event begins.

Apple Store currently offline