“When you are logged in to your Google Account, YouTube keeps a running list of everything you watch on the site for a few reasons,” J. D. Biersdorfer writes for The New York Times. “For one, YouTube uses your viewing history to suggest other videos it thinks you may like, similar to the way Netflix makes recommendations for its members.”
“Having a list of previously watched clips on hand also makes it easy for you to find a video again if you forgot what it was called — and even if you want to view it on a different device,” Biersdorfer writes. “When you are not signed in to a Google Account, YouTube may still keep track of the clips you watched on a specific computer or device.”
“If you would rather not have YouTube keeping track of your activity, you can ‘pause’ your Watch History,” Biersdorfer writes. “When you hit the pause button, videos you view will not be saved to the Watch History list or factored into recommendations for other clips to see. (You can reverse the decision later.)”
Full article here.
MacDailyNews Take: Depriving Google of data is a fun and rewarding pastime!