Mac OS X Snow Leopard guest account bug reportedly deletes user data

“Since Mac OS X 10.6 launched in late August, numerous reports online have detailed the issue, which is triggered by logging in and out of a guest account on a Snow Leopard machine. Upon logging back in to their regular account, users will find that it has been wiped of all data,” AppleInsider reports.

“The issue has prompted numerous threads on the Apple Support Discussions, with reports suggesting the issue cannot be reproduced with any exact certainty,” AppleInsider reports. “Apple has yet to publicly acknowledge the issue.”

AppleInsider, “A month ago, CNET detailed a potential fix for the issue, which is reportedly caused when users have had a guest account enabled for login prior to the install of Snow Leopard. The easiest way to avoid the issue is disabling the guest account.”

Full article here.

36 Comments

  1. Is this really a bug? I remember reading months ago that Guest accounts were intended to delete data upon log out and restore the account to a default state. This is highly desirable in environments where many different users access the same computer, and all the users have network storage access.

Reader Feedback

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.